Bug-a-Palüza 11 Results

April 17-19, 2009

1. Beetle Early - Stock 1949-1957		
1st Place	Donna Letterman	1954 Silver Beetle
2nd Place	Stephen McLean	1957 Tan Beetle
2. Beetle Early - Custom 1949-1957		
1st Place	Jeff Spearn	1957 Gold Beetle
2nd Place	Herrell Bug Parts	1952 Blue Beetle
3rd Place	Lilly Dodd	1957 White/Teal Beetle
	3. Beetle Mid - Stock 1958-1967	
1st Place	Tammy Richterjones	1965 Beetle
2nd Place	Fred Massengale	1964 Beetle
3rd Place	Barbara Johnson	1967 Beetle
4. Beetle Mid - Custom 1958-1967		
1st Place	Bert Sumner	1964 Beetle
2nd Place	Jason Brooks	1964 Metallic Blue Beetle
3rd Place	Justin Flowers	1961 Orange Beetle
	5. Beetle Late Stock 1968-1979	
1st Place	Walter Peterson	1973 Beetle
2nd Place	Peter Duffy	1971 Yellow Beetle
3rd Place	Mary Ruth Brown	1972 Red Beetle
6. Beetle Late Custom - 1968-1979		
1st Place	Paul Tarp	1974 Pink Beetle
2nd Place	Ed Kenney	1972 Blue Choptop
3rd Place	Larry Nolley	1978 Copper Beetle
7. Super Beetle - Stock		
1st Place	Paul Palmer	1973 Orange Beetle
2nd Place	Christine Spurgeon	1972 Red Beetle
3rd Place	Lee Willis	1973 Black and Red Beetle

8. Super Beetle - Custom		
1st Place	Scott Wilson	1974 Teal Beetle
2nd Place	Michael Terry	1974 John Deere Beetle
3rd Place	Eric Knotts	1971 Yellow Beetle
9. B	eetle and Super Beetle Cabriolet - St	ock
1st Place	Leonard Thurman	1967 Yellow Beetle
2nd Place	Becky Wall	1979 Super Beetle
3rd Place	Libby Hall	1974 Yellow Super Beetle
10. Bo	eetle and Super Beetle Cabriolet - Cu	stom
1st Place	Mike Price	1978 Super Beetle
2nd Place	Tom Wilson	1971 Cabriolet
3rd Place	Darrel Adkins	1969 Red Beetle
11. Type 2 Campers - All Years		
1st Place	Carolyn Scheller	1971 Tan Westfalia
2nd Place	Jon Dawson	1976 Green Westfalia
3rd Place	Kevin Danforth	1978 White Westfalia
12. Type 2	Transporter and Truck - Stock 1967	and Older
1st Place	Ken Hippensteel	1958 Single Cab
2nd Place	Dirk Mooth	1967 Red and White Bus
3rd Place	John Moore	1966 Blue and White Bus
13. Тур	e 2 Transporter and Truck - Stock 196	58-1979
1st Place	Jeffery Ammons	1978 Orange/Tan Transporter
2nd Place	JC Ludwig	1974 Tan and White Bus
3rd Place	Emily Winton	1978 Orange/Tan Bus
14. Type 2 Transporters and Trucks - Custom All Years		
1st Place	Smitty	1967 Yellow/White
2nd Place	Darryl Allen	1966 Teal/White
3rd Place	Gary Green	1967 Type 2
15. Type 3 and 4 - Stock and Custom All Years		
1st Place	Charles Sims	1967 Orange Squareback
2nd Place	Jody McClure	1965 White Squareback
3rd Place	Christy McCombs	1965 Blue Notchback

16. Thing - Stock		
1st Place	Ron Domeck	1974 Blue/White Acapulco
2nd Place	Charles Ivey	1974 Yellow
3rd Place	Bruce Favaloro	1974 Thing
17. Thing - Custom		
1st Place	Tee and Evelyn Watkins	1973 Orange
2nd Place	Alcedo Hodge	Wild Thing
3rd Place	Troy Donaldson	1973 Yellow
	18. Karmann Ghia - Stock All Years	
1st Place	Earl Ashby	1974 Orange Karmann Ghia
2nd Place	Ron Brandon	1970 Blue Karmann Ghia
18. Karmann Ghia Cabriolet - Stock All Years		
1st Place	Jack Denton	1968 White Ghia
20. Karmann Ghia Coupe and Cabriolet - Custom All Years		
1st Place	Charles Arthur	1972 Red Cabriolet
2nd Place	Susan Minton	1972 Blue
3rd Place	Billy Gibson	1970 Yellow
21.	Air-Cooled Daily Driver - 1967 and O	lder
1st Place	Carla Roth	1966 Gray Beetle
2nd Place	Irvin Brown	1966 Blue Beetle
3rd Place	Dana Watkins	Maroon/Black Beetle
22. Air-Cooled Daily Driver - 1968-1979		
1st Place	Chris Crocker	Yellow Beetle
2nd Place	Nigel Poland	1973 Yellow Beetle
3rd Place	Todd Carlson	1972 Red Beetle
	23. Rail Buggy - Street	
1st Place	Shane Thompson	1969 Purple
2nd Place	Chad Golden	1969 Orange
3rd Place	Kirk Anderson	1971 Gold/Red
24. Rail Buggy - Off Road		
1st Place	Shane Stephens	1969 Orange w/ Flame
2nd Place	Gary McBurnette	1969 Red
3rd Place	Thom Ledford	1989 Blue

25. Baja and Off-Road (Except Rails)		
1st Place	Robert Thomson	1974 Yellow Baja
2nd Place	Terry Takersly	1969 White Baja
3rd Place	Ian Soderbom	1967 Baja
	26. Dune Buggy	
1st Place	Will Adams	2007 Yellow Surfer
2nd Place	David Rich	1971 Kyote 1
3rd Place	Spook	1951 Purple
	27. Kit Cars and Trikes	
1st Place	Logan Birdsong	1930 Red Jaguar SS100
2nd Place	Ron Renfroe	1980 White Sebring
3rd Place	Trey Longshore	1965 Blue Trike
28. Anti-Show		
1st Place	Jeremy Broome	1968 Beetle Truck
2nd Place	Andrew Schlick	1966 Beetle
3rd Place	David Leaming	Black/Red Beetle
	29. Special Interest	
1st Place	Slick James	1973 Lime Green Beetle Cabriolet
2nd Place	Doug Karnes	1964 Blue Beetle
3rd Place	Daniel Womac	1963 Red Drag Beetle
	30. International	
1st Place	J. Hartline	1998 Red Mexican Beetle
2nd Place	Rebecca Tyler	1998 Silver Mexican Beetle
31. New Beetle - Stock		
1st Place	Rhonda and Wayne Meeks	2002 Orange
2nd Place	Glen Alsabrook	2003 Green
3rd Place	Mark Denney	2004 Red
32. New Beetle Custom		
1st Place	Jai Johnston	1998 Herbie
2nd Place	Smeggy	1998 Red
3rd Place	Larry Goss	2002 Silver

34. Rabbit Early		
1st Place	Daniel Clarke	1981 Red Rabbit Truck
2nd Place	Alan Robertson	1983 Rabbit
3rd Place	Perry Freeman	1981 Rabbit Sportruck
35. Golf and Jetta - 1992 and Back		
1st Place	Derrick May	1989 Yellow GTI
2nd Place	Brian Stewart	1992 Red Jetta
3rd Place	Jason Wilson	1987 Gold Golf
	36. Golf and Jetta - 1993 and Up	
1st Place	Emily Sailors	2000 Silver Jetta
2nd Place	Phillip Triplett	2000 White Jetta
3rd Place	Tyler Sowrey	2004 Silver GLS
37. GTI and GLI - Stock All Years		
1st Place	Mike Fortenberry	2003 Black GTI
2nd Place	Abdiel Ortiz	2003 Jetta
3rd Place	Scott Taylor	1996 White GTI
	38. GTI and GLI - Custom All Years	
1st Place	Russell Fortenberry	2003 Blue
2nd Place	Michael Brink	2003 Red GTI
3rd Place	Daniel Bowling	2004 Blue R32
39. Cabriolet and Cabriot - All Years		
1st Place	Dean Eidel	Yellow Cabriolet
2nd Place	Brian O'Connell	1993 Blue Cabrio
3rd Place	Nicholas Gwozdz	1992 Maroon Cabrio
41. Scirocco - Stock and Custom All Years		
1st Place	Raymond Miller	1981 Red
2nd Place	Cristine Snyder	1987 Black
3rd Place	Steven Rummery	1986 Black
42. Corrado - Stock and Custom All Years		
1st Place	Adam Griffith	1993 Black
2nd Place	Aaron Eberhardt	1993 Black
3rd Place	Joe Gill	1991 Green

43. Early Water-Cooled 1992 and Back		
1st Place	James Tyler	1985 White Westfalia
2nd Place	Scott Easton	1987 Gray Vanagon
3rd Place	Anthony Bell	1991 Maroon Vanagon
44. Late Water-Cooled 1993 and Up		
1st Place	Matthew Bounds	2000 Blue Eurovan
45. Current Production		
1st Place	Frank Farkash	2007 Black GTI

Oldest VW in Attendance		
Lilly Dodd	1951 Beetle	
Longest Distance Award		
Wayne and Rhonda Meeks	740 Miles from Deerfield Beach, FL	
"You Need Therapy" Award		
Mike Colbris	Beetle with Race Track Inside	
"You Drove THAT From WHERE?"		
Alcedo Hodge	Choptop Wild Thing with Tiny Windshield from Out of Town	
Engine Sound Off		
Bill Chapman		
Best Sound System		
Jackie Jones	1974 Super Beetle with Custom Airbrushed Paint	
Best Camp Site		
Woody	Bar Scene	
Best Show	Car Display	
Ron Domeck	1974 Blue and White Acapulco with Cut Away Wheel	
Survivor Award		
Don Bindrim	1960 Black Beetle	
Ladies' Choice		
Alcedo Hodge	Choptop Wild Thing	
Roughest VW Running		
David Wiley	1970 Double Cab	

Air-Cooled Best Engine		
Ron Domeck	1974 Blue and White Acapulco Thing	
Water-Coole	d Best Engine	
Michael Brink	2003 Red GTI	
Air-Cooled Best Interior		
Charles Sims	1967 Orange Squareback	
Water-Cooled Best Interior		
Nicholas Gwozdz	1992 Maroon Cabrio	
Air-Cooled Best Paint		
Jason Brooks	1964 Metallic Blue Beetle	
Water-Cooled Best Paint		
Raymond Miller	1981 Red Scirocco	
Air-Cooled Best Of Show		
Jeff Spearn	1957 Gold Oval	
Water-Cooled Best Of Show		
Russell Fortenberry	2003 Blue GTI	